San Bernardino mountains
City Council District Map

Base Line Safety Improvement Project - Construction Substantially Complete! - 01/04/17
The project on Base Line from SR-210 to Boulder Avenue is almost done. The roadway has been rehabilitated with rubber asphalt along with new thermoplastic striping. All lanes for eastbound and westbound direction on Base Line are open. The only remaining item of work is traffic signal modifications at the Base Line and Seine Avenue intersection. These improvements will be completed Friday, January 13, 2017, weather permitting. The City thanks Highland residents, businesses and commuters affected by the construction of this project for their patience.

Sand and sand bag information


City Council

Penny Lilburn, Mayor
Penny Lilburn

District 3
Larry McCallon, Mayor Pro Tem
Larry McCallon
Mayor Pro Tem

District 5

Jesse Chavez, Council Member
Jesse Chavez
Council Member

District 1
Anaeli Solano, Council Member
Anaeli Solano
Council Member

District 2
John P. Timmer, Council Member
John P. Timmer
Council Member

District 4

About the City Council

The City of Highland was incorporated in 1987 as a General Law city with a City Council/City Manager form of government. The City Council consists of five members, elected by district, but representing the city's interests as a whole. Annually, the City Council elects one of its members to serve as Mayor and another to serve as Mayor Pro Tem. The Mayor is the Presiding Officer at City Council meetings. Additionally, he or she makes ad hoc committee assignments and represents the City at official functions. The Mayor Pro Tem assumes the duties of the Mayor in his or her absence. As with all boards and commissions in the city, the Council is expected to operate within a code of ethics.

City Council meetings are held the second and fourth Tuesdays of every month (typically dark in July and the second meeting in December). The meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. and are held in the Donahue Council Chambers at Highland City Hall, 27215 Base Line.